Seriake Dickson wins Bayelsa state governorship election

Ugo Okoro

The Independent National Electoral Commission, INEC, has formally announced Seriake Dickson as winner of the governorship election of oil rich Bayelsa state.

Dickson received 134,998 votes while his closest rival, Timipre Sylva got 86,852 votes.

Here is a total breakdown of the results from all the 8 local governments in Bayelsa state.

Total Registered voters 654493
Total Accredited Votes 242114
Total valid votes 225520
Rejected votes 6647
Total votes cast 232167

APC 86,852
PDP 134,998
PDM 1,572

Nembe supplementary poll
Collation officer: Dr. Victor Torubelebb
No of registered voters 4294
Accredited voters 2649
Votes scored APC 1400, PDP 1160
Total valid votes 2574
Rejected votes 31
Total votes cast 2605

Ogbia supplementary result collation officer, Dr Anakwe
No of Registered voters 4344
No of accredited voters 1551
Votes scored APC 139, PDP 1290
Total valid votes 1449
Rejected votes 47
Total vote cast 1496

Southern Ijaw council area collation officer: Dr. Dagana

No of registered voters 120,827
Accredited Voters 35,594
No of votes scored APC 10,216
PDP 23,081
Total valid votes 33,607
Rejected votes 927
Total votes cast 34,534

Ekeremor supplementary poll

Collation officer, Dr. Perekibina Beriweni
Total registered votes 9157
Accredited votes 3018
Votes scored APC 257, PDP 2695
Total valid votes 2968
Rejected votes 42
Total votes cast 3010

Brass supplementary result

No of Registered voters 2255
No of accredited voters 1703
Votes scored APC 1679, PDP 05
Total valid votes 1696
Rejected votes 7
Total votes cast 1703

Sagbama supplementary result

No of Registered voters 2005
No of accredited voters 326
Votes scored APC 111, PDP 180
Total valid votes 303
Rejected votes 21
Total votes cast 324


Yenagoa: Collation officer, Dr. Perekeme Bertola, lecturer Niger Delta University
7 registered areas with 18 polling units
No of registered voters 9560
Accredited Voters 1480
No of votes scored APC 448
PDP 839
Total valid votes 1309
Rejected votes 54
Total votes cast 1363

Southern Ijaw

The win followed the announcement of final election results for Southern Ijaw Local Government.

Results in the hotly contested Southern ljaw, for the two leading parties, showed that the All Progressives Congress, APC, scored 10,216 votes while the incumbent party in the state, the Peoples Democratic Party, PDP scored 23,081.

Governor Seriake Dickson( in black) and his closest rival, Timipre Sylva.
Governor Seriake Dickson (in black) and his closest rival, Timipre Sylva.

120,827 voters were registered in the local government while those accredited were put at 35,594.

Results for other parties were ACPN 20; ADC 16 ; APA 40; APA 18; DPC 29 ; DPP 15; KOWA 1; LP 6; NPPP 4; NNPP 4; PPC 11; PDM 108;  PPA 30; PPN 2 ;SPD 2; UPP 1

Valid votes cast were 33, 607. Rejected votes were 927. Total valid votes were 34,534.

Koluama Ward 17 did not have elections because materials arrived very late. Snatching of boxes and violence were recorded in some areas as well.

The number of votes lost in the cancelled registration centres were 39,679.

APC’s representative stood up to complain about the electoral staff. He said that violence reported in Koluama local government was not as bad, as to warrant a cancellation of some votes.

The PDP representative at the collation centre debunked his claims saying his counterpart was not at the venue where the decisions were collectively taken and picked holes in the result from Brass Local Government.