INEC set for re-run elections in Akko federal constituency

Rebecca Mu’azu

The Independent Electoral Commission says all is now set for the re-run elections of the Akko Federal Constituency and the Akko North State constituency of Gombe State, on Wednesday.

The National Electoral Commissioner for North East, Baba Shettima, said sensitive materials had already been distributed, while ad hoc staff had been deployed to the various centres in the area.

“ INEC is now set and ready to conduct a free, fair and credible elections. INEC is committed to saving this nation through appropriate elections and the staff are ready and prepared and tuned to work properly. The idea here is, we are here to supervise the people of Akko elect their representatives, both at the national and state levels,” said Shettima.

Earlier, there were complaints by the political parties on the delay by the electoral commission to display the names of candidates, but all that has been sorted out, as the names of the candidates are now on display at the electoral commission’s office in Gombe.

There are four candidates for the Akko Federal Constituency (House of Representatives), with the African Democratic Congress presenting Salihu Babikir, the New Nigeria People’s Party is presenting Haruna Adamu, the People’s Democratic Party is presenting Ismaila Mu’azu Hassan, while the Social Democratic Party is presenting Musa Danladi.

However, there is no candidate for the All Progressives Congress.

The re-run elections became necessary, when three months ago, the election petition tribunal nullified the election of the candidate of the All Progressives Congress, Umaru Kawu Barambu, contested by the candidate of the People’s Democratic Party, Ismaila Mu’azu Hassan.

The case was however taken to the Appeal Court, which equally nullified the election, on the grounds that the candidate of the All Progressives Congress, Barambu did not properly defect from the People’s Democratic Party.

For the state House of Assembly also, there are equally four candidates, with the All Progressives Congress presenting Musa A. Muhammed.

The People’s Democratic Party is presenting Gidado Mohammed Lawanti, while the Social Democratic Party is presenting Usman Ahmad and the UPP is presenting Mohammed Ibrahim Adamu.