Tinubu dedicates Sun Award to believers of democracy

The Sun newspaper Man of the year, Asiwaju Bola Tinubu has dedicated the award to all fighters and believers of democracy in Nigeria.
Senator Tinubu made this known when he received his award at the Eko Hotel in Lagos, Southern Nigeria.
According to the former Lagos state governor, without the input of lovers and believers of democracy, Nigeria wouldn’t have witnessed the sort of development it had witnessed so far.
“I dedicate this award to all my fellow comrades in the struggle for democracy in my country. Without your effort, the journey wouldn’t have been this great.”
Tinubu also urged Nigerians to exercise perseverance and determination in a bid to ensure the unity and survival of the country.
He commended the APC chieftains for celebrating with him and saluted their courage and strategy used in wrestling power from the immediate past government.
On his part, Vice President, Prof. Yemi Osinbajo, has extolled Senator Tinubu and other prominent Nigerians honoured by the Sun Newspapers.
Osinbajo congratulated the 19 awardees who excelled in their various fields of endeavor.
“I am here to celebrate with everyone the many successes of those who tonight are being given a Sun Award.
I must commend the publisher, Dr Orji Kalu and the entire members of Sun Newspapers for this incredible idea of recognizing some in our mix who have done great things.
And who have continued to do a great thing and honour them in this way,’’ Osinbajo said.
The vice president said Tinubu had recorded success in the historic merger that brought about the APC and the change that the country is experiencing.
The Chairman of the Occasion, Dr Arthur Mbanefo, urged parents to inculcate discipline in their children in order to raise a successful nation.
Mbanefo said many homes were broken because parents have no time to mentor their children.
“Today, if the awardees lack character, they would not have made the list of this award,’’ he said.
Earlier, the Publisher/Chairman, Sun Newspapers Ltd, Orji Kalu said the award was a yearly event aimed at encouraging prominent Nigerians who excelled in their various fields of endeavor.
Some of the recipients of the award include General Abdulsalam Abubakar,General Ike Nwachukwu, Governor Willie Obiano,Rtd Justice Aloma Muktar,Nana Shettima,Chief Mbazulike Amaechi among others.