2016 ITTF: Results and Fixtures in the Nigeria Open

Written by Anulika Menanya

About 100 Tennis players from 14 countries are battling it out in the 4th edition of the annual International Table Tennis Federation tagged the 2016 Nigeria Open.

The competition is holding at the Molade Okoya-Thomas Indoor Sports Hall of the Teslim Balogun Stadium, Lagos.

The countries participating in the tennis event includes Nigeria, Portugal, Russia, Hungary, Egypt, Finland, Slovakia, Romania, Mexico, Ghana, Congo Brazzavillie, Morocco, Tunisia and Cameroun.

The competition served-off with preliminary matches for unseeded players.

Nigeria is being represented by 76 players comprising 47 male and 29 female.

Team Nigeria is led by veteran players Segun Toriola, Quadri Aruna, Funke Oshonaike and Janet Offiong.

The total prize money at this year’s edition is $46,000 which is the biggest prize money in the ITTF Challenge Series in the world.

Here are the Results from the ongoing Lagos international Table tennis classics.

Women’s event

Nigeria (Effiom Janet/Ogundele Rashidat) vs. Russia (Garanova Tatiana/Rosskhina Anna)

Team Russia won 3-0

U-21 Women’s single

Russia ( Rossikhina Anna) vs Russia (Garnova Tatiana )

Garvona Tatiana won 0-3…

U-21 women’s single

{Nig)Jimoh Rofiat vs (Nig)Mbah Onyinyechi

Miss Mbah Onyinyechi won 0-3

Evening session

Aruna Quadri, Adeniyi Kazeem, Babafemi Babatunde and Adeyinka Hammed will be in action for Nigeria.


Aisha JM