9,000 Schools for Milo Basketball championship

More than 9,000 schools from across the federation and the Federal Capital Territory (FCT) Abuja will fight for honours in the 19th Milo Secondary School Basketball championship. The state preliminaries dunk off from 27th April to 25th May, 2017 in four geographical groupings known as conferences.
This was disclosed yesterday by the Managing Director and Chief Executive of Nestle Nigeria Plc Maurice Alarcon who said that the longest running basketball championship in the country has continued to grow bigger. Alarcon noted that the number this year marked an increase from 8,349 schools that competed last year. He underlined the essence of the tournament as providing opportunities for the development of young Nigerians boys and girls, and imbibing in them qualities that include perseverance through hardship, courage to overcome fear, ability to work as a team, self-belief, respect and leadership. “At Nestle, we are committed to positively impacting on millions of children in Nigeria through sports, especially basketball.” Also speaking yesterday, the category Manager, beverages Nestle Nigeria Plc, Olufemi Akintola said that with over 100,000 school children participating annually in the championship, it has grown to become an important component of our national youth development; positively engaging our youth and equipping them with important values and skills to succeed in life. Akintola said that competition in the Central Conference will hold at the Indoor Sports Hall Abuja National Stadium from 27 April to 4 May. Participating state’s include Sokoto, Zamfara, Kebbi, Borno, Adamawa, Taraba, Yobe, Gombe, Bauchi and FCT. Lokoja is the centre of the Confluence Conference which has Kogi, Plateau, Jigawa, Kano, Niger, Kaduna, Nasarawa, Katisna and Benue start from 5 – 11 May. Enugu hosts the Equatorial confluence from 12 – 18 May, with Enugu, Imo, Anambra, Abia, Rivers, Cross River, Akwa Ibom, Bayelsa and Ebonyi while Akure will host the Western Confluence 19 -25 May, 2017 with states from Lagos, Ondo, Oyo, Osun, Edo, Delta, Ekiti, Ogun and Kwara Winners from the conference stage both in the male and female categories will progress to the National finals to be hosted in Lagos from 10 – 17 June. Six teams in both male and female categories will contest for the coveted trophies. These six teams will consist of winners from the four conferences as well as the two best losers selected based on their performances.



Jibril .O