Acting President to swear in two ministers on Wednesday

Cyril Okonkwo, Abuja

R-L; Acting President Yemi Osinbajo at the FEC Meeting in the Council Chambers, State House Abuja.

Nigeria’s Acting Presiden, Professor Yemi Osinbajo would swear in two ministers confirmed by the Senate on Wednesday.

Senior Special Assistant to the President on Media and Publicity, Laolu Akande stated this on his Twitter handle on Tuesday night.

He said the two ministers would be sworn in at the start of the Federal Executive Council meeting.

The Senate had on May 3 this year confirmed the nomination of two ministerial nominees sent to the chamber by President Muhammadu Buhari.

The two ministerial nominees are Professor Stephen Nkani Ocheni, Kogi State, North Central Nigeria and Mr. Suleiman Zana Hassan, Gombe State, North East Nigeria.

The slots of Kogi and Gombe states in the federal cabinet had been vacant following the death of the Minister of State for Labour, Mr. James Ocholi (SAN), in an accident on March 6, 2016; and the appointment of former Minister of the Environment, Ms Amina Mohammed, as the Deputy Secretary General of the United Nations.