Akeredolu wins Ondo governorship election, says he is humbled

Ugo Okoro

Rotimi Akeredolu of the All Progressives Conrgress, APC, has been declared the winner of the Ondo state governorship election.

He won 14 out of the 18 local government areas announced on Sunday.

The incumbent party in the state, the Peoples Democratic Party, PDP, won two local government areas while the Alliance for Democracy, AD, won two as well.

In the final collated results announced, APC scored 244,842; the PDP got 150,380 while the AD had 126,889. There were over 38,000 voided votes.

The number of registered voters was 1,647,973 while the accredited voters were 584,997.

In a tweet, Akeredolu thanked the people of Ondo state, saying he was humbled.