APC wins Kwara state bye-election

Tunde Akanbi, Ilorin

The All Progressives Congress (APC) candidate, Mrs. Victoria Afolayan has been declared the winner of the Oke-Ero constituency bye-election into the Kwara State House of Assembly.

The Returning Officer for the election, Dr Rasheed Jimoh, while announcing the result at the council secretariat in Iloffa said Afolayan polled 5, 344 votes.
According to him, the APC’s candidate beat her arch rival, Mr. Oluwanishola Adeoti of the PDP, who scored 1, 248 votes, while the third contestant in the election, Mrs. Kemi Faunwagun of KOWA party also scored 35 votes.

Dr. Jimoh, who is from the University of Ilorin, disclosed that the total number of registered voters was 29, 437, but only 6, 744 voters were accredited.

He said out of the 6, 627 votes 110 were rejected leaving a total number of valid votes at 5, 804.

 The State House of Assembly seat became vacant following the death of its former occupant, Mr. Moses Afolayan, the husband of the winner of the bye-election.

The leadership of APC in the state dedicated the victory to the Senate President, Dr Bukola Saraki.

Addressing a press conference on Sunday at the party’s secretariat in Ilorin, the state chairman of the party, Ishola Balogun- Fulani said the success recorded in the election was as a result of Saraki’s purposeful leadership.

He said the outcome of the election had further confirmed the popularity of APC in the state, adding that Kwara was no go area for any party without Saraki’s support.
 Balogun Fulani appreciated the people of Oke Ero for voting for the party in the election and promised that all campaign promises would be fulfilled.

In her reaction, the winner, Mrs. Afolayan thanked the people of the constituency for their love and sympathy for the family that ensured her victory.

She attributed her popularity in the election to the indelible mark left behind by her late husband while representing the council in the state House of Assembly.