Appeal Committee submits APC Edo State primary election report

Aanya Igomu, Abuja

The Appeal Committee for the June 18, 2016 Edo State All Progressives Congress, APC Governorship Primary Election has submitted its report at the Party’s National Secretariat in Abuja.

It would be recalled that just after the Edo governorship primary of the APC, two aggrieved aspirants, Kenneth Imasuagbon and Chris Ogienwonyi had appealed the conduct of the primary which returned Mr. Godwin Obaseki as winner of the primary, alleging that there were irregularities and manipulations in the process.

While presenting the report to the National Chairman of the party, the Chairman of the Committee, Mr.Opeyemi Bamidele, appreciated the leadership of the party for the opportunity given to him and other members of the committee but however declined to reveal the conclusion arrived at by the committee.

“As to the content of our report and the conclusion drawn and recommendations, you’ll hear further from the party, I’m not in position to speak on that,” he said

He maintained that the committee was fair and did justice to all the petitions received saying all the petitioners were given opportunities to bring their agents and lawyers to make their presentations.

The APC National Chairman, Chief John Oyegun who received the Committee’s report appreciated them for successfully carrying out the task.

“Like we took trouble to lay out the primaries so that the whole world can see the conduct of the primaries, it was also necessary for you to have the freedom and the access to whatever materials you needed to see. It is my hope that at the end of the day this report will enable us (NWC) in the next few days lay to rest finally the primary exercise that took place in Edo state so we can proceed with the essential task of trying to win an election.”