Athletics: IAAF nominates seven Africans for award

South Africa and Kenya headline Africa’s list of nominees for the 2016 IAAF Athletes of the Year awards, set to be announced in Monaco on December 2.
South Africa’s Wayde van Niekerk and Caster Semenya are named on the list of 10 male and 10 female athletes shortlisted for the top prize.
Kenya’s David Rudisha, Eliud Kipchoge, Censeslus Kipruto and Vivian Cheriuyot also make the list. Ethiopia’s Almaz Ayana is the only nominee from her country.
They join the likes of sprinters Usain Bolt and Elaine Thompson. High jumper Ruth Beitia of Spain is up for the award as well, as is decathlete Ashton Eaton of the United Sates and Britain’s Mo Farah.
The list is made up of Olympic gold-medallists, hot off their performances at the Rio Games.
The nominees for 2016 World Athlete of the Year are:
Usain Bolt (JAM)
Thiago Braz da Silva (BRA)
Ashton Eaton (USA)
Mo Farah (GBR)
Eliud Kipchoge (KEN)
Conseslus Kipruto (KEN)
Omar McLeod (JAM)
David Rudisha (KEN)
Christian Taylor (USA)
Wayde van Niekerk (RSA)
Almaz Ayana (ETH)
Ruth Beitia (ESP)
Vivian Cheruiyot (KEN)
Kendra Harrison (USA)
Caterine Ibarguen (COL)
Ruth Jebet (BRN)
Sandra Perkovic (CRO)
Caster Semenya (RSA)
Elaine Thompson (JAM)
Anita Wlodarczyk (POL)
A three-way voting process will determine the finalists.
The IAAF Council and the IAAF Family will cast their votes by email, while fans can vote online via the IAAF’s social media platforms. The IAAF Council’s vote will count for 50% of the result, while the IAAF Family’s votes and the public votes will each count for 25% of the final result.
The IAAF Family consists of: IAAF member federations, IAAF Committee members, IAAF meeting directors, IAAF athlete ambassadors, athletes’ representatives, top athletes, members of the international press, IAAF staff members and the IAAF’s official partners.
Voting closes on November 1. At the conclusion of the voting process, three men and three women finalists will be announced by the IAAF.
The male and female World Athletes of the Year will be announced live on stage at the IAAF Awards Night.

Aisha JM