Council of State approves new INEC commissioners

Timothy Choji, Abuja

From left: Former presidents; Earnest Shonekan, Abubakar Abdulsalam and Goodluck Jonathan walk with President Buhari (in the background).

The National Council of State has approved the appointment of six national commissioners for the Independent National Electoral Commission INEC.

Five national commissioners were also approved for the National Population Commission, NPC.

Briefing State House correspondents after the meeting of the National Council of State, which was presided over by President Muhammadu Buhari, the Lagos state Governor, Mr Akinwumi Ambode said the approval for six National Commissioners had now filled the vacuum that existed in INEC.

“INEC is supposed to have twelve National Commissioners. We earlier approved six sometime last year and additional six were approved today by the National Council of State.

They are to represent the six geo-political zones as follows, Mohammed Haruna (North-Central); retired Air Vice Marshal Ahmed Tijjani Mu’azu (North-East); Abubakar Nauche (North-West); Professor Okechukwu Ebiano (South-East); May Agbamuche Mbu (South-South) and Dr Adekunle Ladipo Ogunmola  (South-West),” the governor announced.

Governor Ambode also announced the appointment of five new commissioners for the National Population Commission.

“Five new Commissioners were also approved for the National Population Commission. They are Dr Oyitayo Oyetunji, from Oyo state, Patricia Nyaya form Benue, Engineer Benedict Ukong from Akwa Ibom, Dr Haliru Bala from Kebbi and Gloria Uzonfo from Bayelsa state,” he said.

Ambode said the Council expressed satisfaction with the measures being taken by President Buhari to revamp the economy.

Former Nigerian leaders: Earnest Shonekan, Abubakar Abdulsalam and Dr. Goodluck Jonathan as well as some Ministers and state Governors attended the meeting.

The meeting, was attended by some former Nigerian leaders; Chief Justices of the Federation; some ministers and governors.

A cross section of governors at the meeting

It was also the first chaired by President Buhari since he assumed office in May, 2015.

Vice President Yemi Osinbanjo; Secretary to the Government of the Federation, Babachir Lawal and Head of the Civil Service of the Federation, Mrs Winifred Oyo Ita, also attended the meeting.

IG Confirmed

Similarly, the Police Council has confirmed the appointment of Ibrahim Idris as Nigeria’s Inspector General of Police.

Jigawa State Governor, Mohammed Badaru Abubakar, who also briefed State House Correspondents on the outcome of the Police Council meeting, said “we had good deliberations at the Police Council meeting and there was almost a unanimous decision as the Police Council resolved to confirm the appointment of Ibrahim Idris as the Inspector General of Police.”

It would be recalled that Ibrahim Idris, who is from Niger state, central Nigeria, has been acting as the Nigerian Police boss since June 21.