ECOWAS Parliament elects new speaker

Adoba Echono, Abuja

The fourth Legislature of the Economic Community of West African States, ECOWAS, has unanimously elected Moustapha Cisse Lo from the Republic of Senegal as the speaker of the parliament.

The fourth Legislature of ECOWAS Parliament elected Moustapha Cisse Lo who is the Deputy Speaker of the National Assembly of Senegal, to serve as the speaker of the parliament for four years in Abuja Nigeria’s Capital.

His emergence was based on a rotational system in alphabetical order in accordance with Article 15 of the Supplementary Protocol establishing the Parliament, which necessitated the Fourth Parliament to elect a Speaker from the Republic of Senegal following the end of the mandate of its former Speaker from the Federal Republic of Nigeria, Senator Ike Ekweremadu, the Deputy Senate President of the Nigerian senate.

The new Speaker says he would continue to work for the enhancement of the powers of the ECOWAS Parliament, even with the challenges by the parliament due to dwindling resources and also pledged to work towards regional integration.

Senator Ekweremadu, in his valedictory speech, said the adoption of the Supplementary Act on the Enhancement of the powers of the ECOWAS Parliament would be a major step in enhancing the legislative function of the regional parliament.

The Chairman of the Authority of ECOWAS Heads of State and Government, President Republic of Senegal, Macky Sall in his message,  expressed confidence that the Parliament would  address the challenges facing the sub-region in its four year tenure.

In his goodwill message, Senate President Bukola Saraki charged the parliament to do more to raise the living standard of the people of the region.

“This is what our people yearn for and what I charge you today, to recreate the West African sub region, he charged.”

“This Parliament must lead the way again for us to make the sub-region a major market hub, he added.

One hundred and fifteen new members were sworn in as members of the fourth Legislature of the Economic Community of West African States, ECOWAS.

Members of the parliament are elected from National Assembly member of ECOWAS member states.