Ekiti petroleum marketers suspend industrial action

Yinka Salaam, Osogbo

The strike embarked upon by Independent Petroleum Marketers in Ekiti State has been suspended following the intervention of Governor Rauf Aregbesola of Osun State.

Governor Ayodele Fayose of Ekiti State had earlier on Sunday June 4 met with Aregbesola at the Government in Osogbo where the issue on how to resolve crisis was discussed.

Subsequently, the decision to suspend the industrial action was reached at a peace meeting called at the instance of Governor Aregbesola, with Fayose and the petroleum marketer’s leadership in attendance.

A communique signed by governors Aregbesola and Fayose with representatives of the petroleum marketers agreed that an ad hoc committee be constituted to ‘fashion out the conditions and guidelines for the establishment and operations of filling stations in Ekiti State.

It stated that the committee, comprising representatives of the Ekiti State Government and oil and gas stakeholders shall commence work on Wednesday 7th June, 2017.

The meeting also reversed some vital decisions taken in the heat of the crisis.

“Following disputations on modalities for establishing and operating filling stations in Ekiti State between the government and independent oil marketers which led to face off culminating in the suspension of the lifting and sale of petroleum products in Ekiti State, a reconciliatory meeting held today June 4, 2017, at the Government House, Osogbo, resolved as follows:

“In the spirit of reconciliation, Ekiti State Government agreed to pleas for reversal of the revocation of some Certificates of Occupancy of landed properties on which filling stations are built, except the ones on waterways, canals and where there is no justification for such revocation;

“In that same spirit, the government agreed to stop further demolitions pending the outcome of the committee’s report.

Consequently, the Nigerian Union of Petroleum and Natural Gas Workers (NUPENG), Independent Petroleum Marketers Association of Nigeria (IPMAN) and other related oil and gas unions thus suspended the industrial action ‘with immediate effect’.

Those who signed the Communiqué are governors Fayose and Aregbesola, NUPENG, General Secretary, Joseph Ogbebor, IPMAN, Zonal Chairman, Alhaji Debo Ahmed and the Petroleum Tanker Drivers (PTD) NUPENG, National Vice Chairman, Comrade Solomon Kilanko.