FIBA AfroBasket field set for D’Tigers

Lekan Sowande with Agency Report

The field for FIBA AfroBasket 2017 is set following the conclusion of an Additional Qualifier that saw the Central African Republic (CAF) beat Chad 67-64 in the Malian city of Bamako to claim the last qualifying spot.

As a result, all 16 teams set to compete in FIBA Africa’s flagship event this summer are known.

They are Angola, Cameroon, Central African Republic (CAF), Cote d’Ivoire, the Democratic Republic of Congo, Egypt, Guinea, Mali, Morocco, Mozambique, Nigeria, Rwanda, Senegal, South Africa, Tunisia and Uganda.

As well as ensuring their participation in FIBA AfroBasket 2017, the Central Africans also secured a place in the FIBA Basketball World Cup 2019 African Qualifiers, which get underway in November.

The Additional Qualifier occurred in order to find the replacement of the Republic of Congo, who was removed from FIBA AfroBasket 2017 after pulling out from hosting and organizing the competition.

FIBA Africa has since selected Angola as the new host country of the continental showpiece.
Nigeria’s D’Tigers is the defending Champions after winning the last FIBA AfroBasket Championship in Tunisia.


Aisha JM