Former International Victor Ikpeba concerned about Caf Awards

Gregory Ekpezu, Lagos

A former Nigerian International Victor Ikpeba has expressed concerns about the inability of Nigerian players to make the 2015 Caf/glo award final list.
Ikpeba, the one time African footballer of the year, made the assertion as Africa will today Thursday, January 7, honour outstanding players and administrators in the last one year at the Caf/glo award in Abuja, Nigeria’s capital.
In the African player of the year award category, the top three players are Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang of Gabon, Borrusia Dortmund of Germany and four time winner of the award, Yaya Toure of Cote d’Ivoire and Manchester city of England player. The other is Ghana and Swansea city player, Andrew Ayew.
Final list
Commenting on the final list, Ikpeba says it is discouraging that Nigerian players are no longer in the centre of the event since their dominance in the 90’s.
According to him, Nigerian players must raise their games and score in the Africa cup of Nations, Afcon tournament, local and champions league to get the necessary recognition.
“It is sad that Nigeria, a big footballing Nation does not have a player in the final list. We have won it five times and always dominated the list, it shows the potentials we have. It is regrettable. You can never be short of time, but the position in the last few years have been very high, the likes of Yaya Toure, Didier Drogba and Samuel Eto’o. These are excellent players…So our players have to up their games, play in the right clubs, do well in Afcon and champions leagues,” he said.
The annual award will have top football celebrities and government officials across Africa. It is will be presided over by the acting President of Fifa and Confederation of African football president, Issa Hayatou at the conference centre in Abuja.
The award list was prepared through a rigorous selection by the technical, football and media committees of Caf, taking into account the performances of the players for their national teams as well as their clubs from January to November of last year.