Godwin Obaseki of APC wins Edo election

Samuel Okocha, Benin

The Independent National Electoral Commission INEC, has declared Godwin Obaseki of the ruling All Progressives Congress APC winner of the Edo State governorship election.

The APC candidate won with a total votes of 319, 483 leaving the Peoples Democratic candidate following behind with 253, 173 votes

Results were announced amid increased presence of security personnel around the premises of INEC in the state capital, Benin.

Voting had began peacefully with a large turnout of voters amidst heavy security presence on the streets of the southern Nigerian state.

During the collation and announcement of collated results, supporters of the ruling People Democratic Party took to the streets to protest the election, citing manipulation of the results.

At the INEC office in Benin, the police used teargas to disperse protesters. A TV reporter collapsed. She has however regained consciousness and alive.

The poll earlier slated for September 10th was rescheduled to September 28th after security agencies warned of imminent security threat.

Nineteen candidates vied  to become the next governor after eight years of the incumbent, Adams Oshiomole. But the main contest came down between Godwin Obaseki of the ruling All Progressives Congress, and Andrew Ize-Iyamu of the Peoples Democratic Party.

Confidence O