Jighere, others qualify for World Scrabble Championship

The world scrabble champion, Wellington Jighere will head the eight-man list of players who has qualified for the 2017 World English Scrabble Players’ Association Championship (WESPAC).

The Senior National Team Coach, Tony Ikolo of the Nigeria Scrabble Federation (NSF) said the team was now on a five-day voluntary open camp in Port Harcourt in preparation for the competition slated to hold in Kenya from November 6 to November 12.

“We are on a five-day voluntary open camp to help us begin in earnest preparations towards defending our world scrabble crown,’’ he said.

The coach disclosed also that the federation had also given invitation to other players in the country to come and train with the team.

The 2017 WESPAC is the second edition, after a hugely successful debut in Perth 2015.

The Full List of Qualifiers:

Ratings             Name                                      Points

Wellington Jighere    – Defending Champion   – 1763

Moses Peter                                                    1746

Dennis Ikekeregor                                            1734

Eta Karo                                                          1732

Nsikak Etim                                                      1718

Olatunde Oduwole                                             1712

Quickpen Ben                                                    1639

Olaiya Kabir                                                       1609


Aisha JM