Ondo governorship results in detail

Ugo Okoro and Yinka Salaam in Akure

Elections results from the Ondo state governorship election have been fully announced in Akure, by the Independent National Electoral Commission.

Here are the full results of the 18 local government areas:

Illaje Local government Area, LGA

AD= 22, 789

APC = 7,030

PDP =5,007

Ese-Odo LGA:



PDP= 8,701

Akure South LGA:
APC: 25,797
PDP: 25,005
AD: 12,270
Odigbo LGA:
APC: 17,581
PDP: 8,668
AD: 8,187
Owo LGA:

AD: 2469

APC: 32, 988

PDP: 4,241

Okitipupa LGA:

AD: 16,294

APC: 14,930

PDP: 8,031

Akoko North-West LGA:




Akoko South-West LGA:

AD: 9,359


PDP: 7,691

Akure South LGA-

AD: 12277

APC: 25,797:

PDP: 25,005

Odigbo LGA:

AD: 8187

APC: 17,581

PDP: 8,668

Idanre LGA:

AD: 4836

APC: 10,981

PDP: 7575

Irele LGA: 

APC : 11,138

PDP : 5,907

AD : 6,710

Ondo East LGA:

APC : 4253

PDP : 7317

AD: 2742

Ile-Oluji/Okeigbo LGA :

PDP: 8,306

AD: 4525

SDP: 144

APC : 10681

Akoko North/East LGA:

APC: 13,645

PDP : 6496

AD: 5867

Ifedore LGA:

APC :10958

PDP : 6747

AD: 4629

Ose LGA:

APC: 13,454

PDP : 6,520

AD: 4, 272

Ondo West LGA

APC : 10, 672

PDP :17,382

AD: 7,154

Large turnout

Meanwhile, the Ondo poll witnessed a large turnout of voters amid a peaceful conduct and with no major hitches.

In Akure, the state capital, voters, electoral officers and election materials arrived at polling units earlier, even before the official kick off time of 8.00am for the exercise.

Ondo State Resident Electoral Commissioner, Mr Olusegun Agbaje

The Resident Electoral Commissioner, Mr Olusegun Agbaje, who was on an inspection tour at the Sacred Heart School Polling Station, Cathedral area assured voters of enough Card Readers to replace faulty ones.

Eyitayo Jegede of the Peoples Democratic Party’s flagbearer, voted in the same Polling Unit, after he, with his wife stayed in the queue for about 45 mins, before casting his ballot at about 10:50 am.

Eyitayo Jegede
Eyitayo Jegede

He commended the electoral process but called on the Independent National Electoral Commission, INEC,  to ensure all accredited voters were allowed to exercise their franchise through adequate provision of efficient Card Readers

Governor Mimiko (seated far left) waits for vote count

In Ondo town at Agbogbo Oke where Governor Olusegun Mimiko cast his votes, the atmosphere was calm as voters, including the Governor waited for votes to be counted before they departed.

VON Correspondents report that situations were not different in Oke Igbo and Ile Oluji as voters conducted themselves peacefully before, during and after voting.img_20161125_081843

The atmosphere was also similar at Owo, Rotimi Akeredolu voted where the All Progressives Congress Party candidate voted. Akeredolu also commended the peaceful conduct of the election and and political consciousness of the people as reflected in the large turnout.

In Igbotako town, Mr Jimoh Ibrahim who was substituted with Eyitayo Jegede by the court judgments after casting his ballot, insisted he was still the PDP candidate, saying he would be the one to be sworn in should PDP wins the election.

Olusola Oke of the Alliance for Democracy, AD, voted in Ilaje across the water. At his home in Okitipupa, he praised the INEC for a job well done, and expressed confidence of coming victorious at the poll.

His wife, Dr Daisi Oke commended the simultaneous voting system where accreditation and voting are done successively within few minutes.

Mrs Oke who commended the adequate security arrangements and civility of the security personnel, however, called on the electoral body to ensure the will of the people prevailed.

She, however, urged politicians to maintain calm after the final result might have been counted, advising them to imbibe the spirit of sportsmanship.

Though, there were reported cases of hitches in a few areas, the peaceful conduct of the election in most areas has been generally commended by both the electorates and the politicians, as a marked improvement over previous elections.

The citizens of Ondo expect to know their next governor as they patiently await the final results.