More results released in Edo governorship election

By Taiwo Ojedele, Lagos

Nigeria’s Electoral Body, the Independent National Electoral Commission INEC, has released more results for the Edo State governorship election held on Wednesday.

The commission has so far announced results from 15 local government areas out of the 18 expected.

The All Progressives Congress Candidate, Godwin Obaseki is in the lead from the results released.

LGA: Owan West

Number of registered voters: 54,406

Number of accredited voters: 24,487

APC: 12,862

PDP: 10,132

Total votes cast: 23,290

Rejected votes: 1,002

LGA: Egor

Number of registered voters: 184,296

Number of accredited voters: 49,802

APC: 26,177

PDP: 19,514

Total valid votes cast: 46,728

Rejected votes: 2,811

LGA: Esan North East

Number of registered voters: 74,293

Number of accredited voters: 27,121

APC: 9,130

PDP: 16,220

Total valid votes: 25,747

Rejected votes: 1,197


Number of registered voters: 42,655

Number of accredited voters: 16,482

APC: 7,802

PDP: 7,560

Total valid votes: 15,506

Rejected votes: 580

Two polling units cancelled.

LGA: Uhunmwode

Number of registered voters: 62,987

Number of accredited voters: 21,927

APC: 10,911

PDP: 8,667

Total valid votes: 19,971

Rejected votes: 1,759

LGA: Esan South East

Number of registered voters: 66,695

Number of accredited voters: 22,522

APC: 9,554

PDP: 11,466

Total valid votes: 21,250

Rejected votes: 806

LGA: Oredo

Number of registered voters: 273,614

Number of accredited voters: 74,076

APC: 37,612

PDP: 30,492

Total valid votes: 69,401LGA: Orhionmwon

Number of registered voters: 102,921

Number of accredited voters: 34,270

APC: 15,262

PDP: 16,446

Total valid votes: 32,213

Rejected votes: 1,788

LGA: Esan West

Number of registered voters: 87,867

Number of accredited voters: 31,866

APC: 13,114

PDP: 16,311

Total valid votes: 29,963

Rejected votes: 1,563

 Owan East:

Total votes cast: 36,122
PDP: 12,889

Ovia North East:

APC: 17,561

PDP: 13,141

Esan Central

Valid votes: 20,211

Rejected votes: 1153

Total votes cast: 21,364

APC: 9781

PDP: 10,180

Etsako Central LGA

Registered voters: 43,049

Accredited voters, 20,145

Valid votes: 19,358

Rejected votes: 549

Votes cast:19,907

APC: 10,373

PDP: 8,827

Etsako East LGA

Registered voters:66,277
Accredited voters:33,032
Valid votes:30,858
Rejected votes:1,056
Total votes cast: 31,914

APC: 18,078

PDP: 12,552

Meanwhile, supporters of the opposition Peoples Democratic Party have besieged the INEC secretariat in Benin City to protest against the results announced so far.

They are calling for the cancellation of all the results earlier announced by the electoral body.

Mercy Chukwudiebere