NCC tennis playoffs begin on Thursday

The 2017 (NCC) Tennis League has been scheduled to begin at the National Stadium in Lagos on Thursday with playoffs involving three teams vying to take the 12th spot in the main event.

The teams are Team Anambra (Onitsha), Team Oluyole (Ibadan) and Team Police College (Ikeja).

They dropped into the playoffs based on their collective rankings as the tennis league has a cap of 12 teams.

According to the International Tennis Academy, organisers of the competition, the matches will be reduced to five to enable each tie to finish in one day.

The matches to decide each tie are two men’s singles, one ladies’ singles, one men’s doubles and one mixed doubles.

“We are expecting some very exciting matches as the teams are featuring some very good national and intermediate players,” he said.

The league is offering consolidated prize money of N23m this year.

According to ITA, the main event will start next weekend with an opening match between Team Civil Defence featuring Abdulmumuni Babalola, Clifford Enosoregbe and Christie Agugbom,    and newcomers Team Muller, who have (CBN) Senior Championships finalist Joseph Imeh, Emma Idoko and Ronke Akingbade on their list.



Jibril .O