Nigeria, four others end United Nations Security Council tenure

Aliyu Othman, Abuja

The United Nations Security Council’s five non-permanent members including Nigeria, have ended their two year tenure in 2015.

They will be replaced by Egypt, Japan, Ukraine, Uruguay and Senegal for the next two years up to 2017.

Nigeria served as non-permanent member of the Security Council for the years 2013 to 2015, thus listing the most populous nation in Africa among the leading countries to have enjoyed the most appearance.

Nigeria is also seeking a permanent seat in a reformed UN system.

Records show that Nigeria served as a non-permanent member of the Security Council from 1966 to 1967, 1978 to 1979, 1994 to 1995, 2010 to 2011 and 2013 to 2015.”

Nigeria had the rare opportunity of being represented at the United Nations Security Council (UNSC) by Alhaji Maitama Sule, General Joe Garba, Professor George Obiazor, General Ike Nwachukwu, Professor Ibrahim Gambari and Professor Joy Ogwu, Nigeria’s current Permanent Representative to the UN, among others.

Other countries that have represented various continents in the UNSC as non-permanent members between 2013 and 2015 include Chad, Chile, Jordan and Lithuania.

Others that will end their non-permanent representation in 2016 include Angola, Malaysia, New Zealand, Spain and Venezuela.

The list of long serving non-permanent members of the UN Security Council include Japan, Brazil, Argentina, Pakistan and Colombia, which have served between 7 and 11 times.

There are more than sixty member nations of the United Nations that never served as non-permanent members, throughout their stay in the UN.

As non-permanent members of the Security Council, they share powers with the five permanent members that enjoy veto power; the United States of America, United Kingdom, France, Russia and China.

The ten non-permanent representatives also preside over the activities of the UNSC on a monthly basis and Nigeria served as president in 2015, among others.

The Security Council as one of the six principal organs of the UN, is charged with the maintenance of world peace and security, establishment of peacekeeping operations, imposition of international sanctions and authorisation of military action, as may be mandated through the Security Council resolutions.

The UN Security Council remains the only organ of the world body that has the authority to issue binding resolutions on member nations, if it’s not vetoed by any permanent member of the Security Council.