Nigeria Hockey Super League to begin on Saturday

The Nigeria Hockey Federation (NHF) on Tuesday in Abuja said 15 teams will participate in the 2017 Hockey Super League.

Secretary-General of the federation, Rita Akande, said the league would hold from July 8 to July 15 at the Abuja National Stadium.

She said the 15 teams are made up of eight male and seven female, adding that the league would feature seven matches each day.

The male teams include two-times champions Niger Flickers of Minna, Union Bank of Lagos, Police Machine and Yobe Desert Rollers of Damaturu.

The others are El-Kanemi Flickers of Maiduguri, Kada Stars of Kaduna, RIV Kings of Port Harcourt and IGP Flickers.

For the female competition, the participating teams are Kada Queens of Kaduna, Heartland of Owerri, Benue Amazons of Makurdi and IGP Babes.

The rest are Yobe Desert Queens of Damaturu, Plateau Queens of Jos and RIV Queens of Port Harcourt.

Akande said 24 officials, led by Hulda Ambe, would be on ground to ensure that the league went on smoothly.

Akande said the league’s winners in both the male and female categories would represent Nigeria at the Africa Club Championships slated for Egypt in December.

“The Africa Club Championships were earlier slated to hold in August but were postponed to December.

“The postponement is a blessing to us in Nigeria because the Super League will give us the opportunity to scout for more players which will join the national teams,’’ she said.



Aisha JM