NWFL Congress picks date for new league season

The Congress of Nigeria Women Football League (NWFL) has picked March 25 as kick-off date for its Premier League (NWPL) and April 8 for its Pro-League (NWPFL).

In the communiqué of the congress, released on Thursday, a two-group format abridged league was also agreed upon for the competition.

“It will comprise eight teams in each group for the 2016/2017 league season only,’’ it said.

The congress was held on Wednesday in Abuja, with the Youth and Sports Minister, Solomon Dalung, as a Special Guest of Honour.

The communiqué also disclosed that a rule harmonising committee has been set up by the NWFL Board to harmonise the existing rules with the newly-presented rules and regulations.

The committee has Margaret Icheen as Chairman, with Nkechi Obi, Mustapha Tahir and Emmanuel Zira as members and Ayo Abdulrahaman as Secretary.

The communiqué also said the congress approved the new season’s fixtures as thrown up by the draws for the 2016/2017 league season.

“Based on the fixtures, the Star Match for the opening of the season is between Bayelsa Queens Football Club of Yenagoa and Ibom Angels FC of Uyo,’’ it stated.




Aisha JM