Omagbemi invites 30 for 2016 AWCON

Nigeria’s Super Falcons Coach, Florence Omagbemi has invited 30 players to ahead of 2016 Africa Women’s Cup of Nations (AWCON).

Asisat Oshoala, Francisca Ordega and Desire Oparanozie as well as Captain Evelyn Nwabouku are among the list of players picked for the tournament scheduled to hold in November.

The squad is made up of eight foreign based players and 22 home based professionals.

The Falcons are drawn in Group B against arch-rivals Ghana, Kenya and Mali as they aim for their eighth record title.

The Super Falcons edged Senegal 3-1 on aggregate to reach the competition to be held in Cameroon.

Nigeria will face Mali in their first game on November 20, 2016 at the Stade Municipal de Limbe.


Ngosi Ebere (PSG), Francisca Ordega (Washington Spirit), Rita Chikwelu (Umeå IK), Faith Ikidi (Pitea IF), Asisat Oshoala (Arsenal Ladies), Desire Oparanozie (Guingamp), Evelyn Nwabouku (Guingamp), Ngozi Okobi (Vittsjo GIK), Chiima Nwankwo (Adamawa Queens), Nneka Julius (Adamawa Queens), Nneka Ike (Ibom Angels), Sherifat Saheed (Sunshine Queens), Ibebeleye Whyte (Rivers Angels), Chioma Wogu (Rivers Angels), Osaremoma Igbinovia (Bayelsa Queens), Akpa Gladys (Rivers Angels), Abasi Gladys (Sunshine Queens), Alaba Jonathan  (Bayelsa Queens), Sheun Bello (Confluence Queens), Alice Ogodo (Delta Queens), Edoho Blessing (Pelican Stars), Aluko Yetunde (Sunshine Queens), Rita Akarekor (Delta Queens), Uwandu Nkemakolami (Edo Queens), Ugo Njoku (Rivers Angels), Toyla Maureen (Confluence Queens), Anam IMO (Nasarawa Amazons), Gloria Iroka (Rivers Angels), Ijeoma Obi (Sunshine Queens), Aluko Yetunde (Sunshine Queens), Osinache Ohale (Rivers Angels).


Aisha JM