Osun picks flagbearers ahead of Senatorial election

Yinka Salaam, Osogbo

All is set for an election to fill the Osun West Senatorial seat with the emergence of three major party flagbearers in different primaries held across the state on Wednesday.

The by-election slated for July 8, 2017 was necessitated by the death of Senator Isiaka Adeleke few months ago.

Senator Mudashiru Hussein of the All Progressive Congress (APC) Ademola Adeleke of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) and Bade Falade of Social Democratic Party, emerged as their parties’ candidates in the coming election.

The APC primaries held in Osogbo, the state capital, produced Senator Hussein who polled 2,412 out of 2,560 delegates that participated in the exercise.

The Screening Committee, Sanusi Rikiji who is also the incumbent Speaker of the Zamfara State House of Assembly announced the result, noting that voting was conducted in a very peaceful atmosphere.

PDP picked Ademola, the younger brother of late Senator Isiaka Adeleke, as its flag bearer following his defection from APC to PDP on the eve of the election.

Ademola secured the ticket after his contestants, a former Minister for Youth and Sports, Senator Akinlabi Olasunkanmi and Colonel Olayiwola Talabi stepped down to adopt him, citing party interest.

Meanwhile, Bade Falade, a former member of House of Representatives won the SDP ticket with 15 votes to beat his challenger, Rasheed Adeyemo who polled 12 votes.

Twenty eight delegates participated in the process.

Three major political parties; APC, PDP and SDP will participate in the by-election to fill the vacant Osun West Senatorial seat come July 8, 2017.

Confidence Okwuchi