PDP wins Osun Assembly bye-election

Yinka Salaam, Osogbo

The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) has declared the candidate of Peoples’ Democratic Party, Chief Dipo Eluwole as the winner of the bye-election held over the weekend.

Eluwole will fill the Ife Central Constituency seat at the Osun State House of Assembly became vacant following the death of Mr Oladejo Makinde, also from the PDP.

Makinde died in December last year after a brief illness.

The Returning Officer, Dr. Francis Oladimeji on Sunday declared Eluwole as the winner of the bye-election.

Eluwole scored 5504 votes to defeat the candidates of Accord Party, Mr Olusegun Fanibe who came second with 4790 votes.

The candidate of All Progressives Congress (APC) Tilewa Sijuwade scored 4587 votes and came third.

Others parties that participated in the election‎ are Citizens Popular Party (CPP) with 91 votes; Mega Progressive Peoples Party (MPPP) got 11 votes and New Nigeria Peoples Party (NNPP) had 25 votes.

According to the Returning Officer, out of 95114 registered voters, 15312 were credited and voted. And of the 15312 total votes cast; there were 15008 valid votes  and 304 were rejected votes.

‎Speaking after his victory, Eluwole said, “This is a victory well deserved. It’s the beginning of progress and development in Ile-Ife and Osun State as a whole.”