President Buhari approves new NNPC board

Ben Adam Shemang

NNPC Towers, Abuja

President Muhammadu Buhari has approved the composition of the Board of the Nigerian National Petroleum Corporation (NNPC).

“This is in consonance with the provision under Section 1(2) of the Nigerian National Petroleum Corporation Act of 1997, as amended.”

A statement signed by the President’s Special Adviser, Mr Femi Adesina, says the members of the Board are  Chairman -Dr Emmanuel Ibe Kachikwu, Honourable Minister of State for Petroleum; Group Managing Director- Dr Maikanti Kacalla Baru and Permanent Secretary of the Federal Ministry of Finance.

Others are Abba Kyari, Dr Thomas M.A John, Dr Pius O. Akinyelure, Dr Tajuddeen Umar, Mohammed Lawal and Yusuf Lawal.

President Buhari urged the new board to ensure the successful delivery of the mandate of the NNPC, ” and serve the nation by upholding the public trust placed on them in managing this critical national asset.”