President seeks confirmation of six Central Bank directors

President Muhammedu Buhari has submitted six names of nominees for confirmation by the Senate as non Executive Directors of the board of the Central Bank of Nigeria, CBN.

The nominees are Prof. Ahmed Jalingo North-east, Prof Justina Nnabogu South-east, Prof Mike Obadan South-South, Dr. Abdul Abubakar North-west., Adeola Adetunji South west.

Senate President, Dr. Bukola Saraki who read the letter requesting for their confirmation, said he did it in accordance with section 61D and 10(1,2) of the Central Bank of Nigeria establishment Act 2007.

He also submitted names of additional ambassadorial nominees for confirmation namely Justice Sylvanus Nsofor-Imo state, Joseph Olushola Ondo state, Commodore Yusuf  Inna- Gombe state.

“With reference to your letter dated 28 March, 2017, I have the honour to present the underlisted non carreer ambassadorial nominees for confirmation by the Senate,” the letter stated.

Also submitted for confirmation was the name of Professor James Momoh for confirmation as chairman of the Nigerian Electricity Regulatory Commission.