Senate confirms appointment of two apex court Justices

Edwin Akwueh, Abuja

The Nigerian senate has confirmed the appointment of two Justices of the Supreme Court to fill the vacancies for the North West and North Central zones of the country. Their appointment followed senate’s consideration of the report of its committee on judiciary, human rights and legal matters.

Justices Ejembi Eko representing North Central zone and Amina Augie representing North West zone, were appointed to replace Justices J.A. Fabiyi and M.S. Kumasi, both of whom disengaged from the public service on the 25th November, 2015 and 10th Febuary, 2016 respectively, after attaining the mandatory retirement age of 70 years.

In carrying out the confirmation exercise, the senate for the first time in this 8th Assembly also adopted the electronic voting system which was presided over by the Deputy Senate President Ike Ekweremmadu.

Senator Ekweremmadu thereafter urged the confirmed Justices to live up to their reputation as patriotic Justices who have earned high level of integrity in the legal profession.

“We believe that they now have the opportunity to 

contribute their quota to the development of this country and we believe that at this trying period in our history, the challenges are many and we expect them to be honest, and just to all concerned and bring the highest level of integrity in the discharge of their responsibilities.

We are looking forward to very stabilizing period in the Supreme Court, with their entrance, and we do hope that God will guide them to ensure that they exercise their responsibilities with the utmost integrity and for the sustenance of justice”.   

Population Census

Also on Tuesday, the senate in plenary called on President Muhammadu Buhari to issue a proclamation for the holding of a population and housing census in 2018, while requesting office of the SGF, Ministry for budget & national planning, the National Population Commission and any other supervising agencies to make adequate provision in the 2017 budget as a critical prerequisite to achieving 2017/2018 population census.

The resolution followed a motion on the need for government to expedite action on the planned 2018 national census, and it was sponsored by Senator Suleiman Hunkuyi and 4 others.

The senate had earlier considered the request of President Buhari seeking the confirmation of five nominees as commissioners for the NPC. The issue was referred to the committee on NPC for further legislative action, to report back to plenary in 2 weeks.

In another development, the senate also began the process of confirming Mr. President’s nominees as commissioners of the INEC, to represent the six geo-political zones of Nigeria. The committee on INEC was asked to continue the process and report back to plenary in 2 weeks.




Prof. Okechukwu Ibeanu               Eng. Benedict Ukpong

May Agbamuche Mbu                    Gloria Izonfuo

AVM Ahmed Mu’Azu                     Barr. Kupchi Ori Iyanya

Mohammed Haruna                        Dr. Haliru Bala

Dr. Adekunle Ogunmola                  Dr. Eyitayo Oyetunji

Abubakar Nahuche