Senate rejects Magu as EFCC Boss

Edwin Akwueh, Abuja

The Nigerian Senate has rejected the nomination of Mr. Ibrahim Magu as the Chairman of the Economic and Financial Crimes Commission (EFCC) as requested for, by President Muhammadu Buhari.

 President Buhari had in July this year, forwarded to the Senate for confirmation,  Magu’s appointment via a letter read on the floor of the Senate but remained at that level till last week when the Senate informed Nigerians that Magu and other nominees into the board of the commission would be screened this week Thursday, December 15, 2016.

However, while nominations of other nominees like Nda Sule Moses, Lawan Mamman, Galandanci Imam and Adeleke Rafiu were referred to committee on anti-corruption for consideration, that of Mr. Magu was rejected.

In a press statement read at the end of the two and half hours closed door session held on Thursday over the issue, the spokesman of the Senate, Senator Aliyu Sabi  Abdullahi said the rejection of Magu was based on security report.

The statement reads: “The Senate of the Federal Republic of Nigeria wishes to inform the general public that based on security reports available to the Senate, the Senate cannot proceed and confirm the nomination of Ibrahim Magu Mustapha as the Executive Chairman of EFCC.

“Accordingly, the Senate hereby rejects the said nomination and has returned the said nomination to Mr. President for further act”.

This position was repeated by the Senate President, Bukola Saraki when he put questions to senators on what transpired at the closed door session.

Senate adjourns

Meanwhile, the Senate has adjourned its plenary session for the year 2016, and the lawmakers are expected to resume duties on January 10, 2017.

The adjournment on Thursday was to enable the Senators embark on the end of year short recess, and observe the Christmas and New Year celebrations.

In a closing remark, President of the Senate, Dr. Bukola Saraki commended his colleagues for their courage and dedication during oversight functions, and other legislative duties that led to the success of the 2016 year.

Senator Saraki also urged his colleagues to demonstrate the same commitment in 2017 when they reconvene to begin consideration of the appropriation bill presented by President Buhari on Wednesday.

Rivers senators

Three of the senators that won the recently concluded Rivers state re-run senatorial elections also joined their colleagues in the chamber just before the plenary session was adjourned.

The new entrants to the red chamber are, Osinakachukwu Ideozu (PDP) representing Rivers West Senatorial District, and Thompson George Sekibo, representing Rivers East senatorial district.

Senator Magnus Abe of the ruling APC was declared winner of the seat for Rivers South East Senatorial District, beating his opponent, Senator Olaka Nwogu of PDP.