Super Falcons cruise into AWCON finals

Cup holders Nigeria will be one of the eight countries that will participate in the 10th African Women Cup of Nations (AWCON) holding in Cameroon from 19th November – 3rd December this year, after the champions saw off the Teranga Lionesses of Senegal 2-0 in Abuja on Tuesday.

Goals from midfielders Rita Chikwelu and Osarenoma Igbinovia, in either half, sent the Falcons soaring to a 3-1 aggregate win over the Senegalese, following both teams’ 1-1 draw in Dakaron Friday.

The seven –time African champions fluffed a hatful of chances in the first half, with Arsenal FC of England new signing Asisat Oshoala looking a lot less sharp than her usual self, and forward Desire Oparanozie forced to start from the bench as a result of the injury she sustained in the first leg.

Oshoala failed to convert from the penalty spot after Ebere Orji was upended in the box, before Chikwelu connected a brilliant pass to put Nigeria in front in the 36th minute.

Igbinovia was at the right place to connect another brilliant pass from the right just a minute into the second half, to somehow settle the nerves of dignitaries and spectators at the National Stadium, Abuja.

NFF executives present at the match were NFF President, Amaju Pinnick, 1st Vice President, Seyi Akinwunmi, 2ndVice President/LMC chairman Shehu Dikko, NFF General Secretary Mohammed Sanusi, NFF Executive Committee members Ibrahim Gusau, Chris Green, Babagana Kalli, Sunday Dele-Ajayi and Yusuf Ahmed Fresh, Chairman of Senate Committee on Sports Obinna Ogba, former NFF General Secretary Bolaji Ojo-Oba, LMC chief operating officer Salihu Abubakar, former NFF General Secretary, Fanny Amun and a number of Chairmen and Secretaries of Football Associations of different States of the federation.



NFF /Aisha JM