Super Falcons meet Mali as 10th AWCON begins

The opening ceremony of the 10th African Women Cup of Nations will take place today as host Cameroon and Egypt lock horns in the first game at the Yaounde Stadium.

However, the tournament’s defending champions, Nigeria’s Super Falcons will battle their Malian counterpart on Sunday at the Limbe Stadium.

The Falcons who have won the championship for a record seven times are placed in Group B with Ghana, Mali and Kenya and a total of eight teams will play in the tournament.

Meanwhile, the initial dates of the championship were October 8 to 22 2016, but were changed due to weather considerations.

In the same vein, on 6 August 2015, the CAF Executive Committee decided to change the name of the tournament to Africa Women Cup of Nations.



Aisha JM