Yusuf Lasun elected first Deputy Speaker of ECOWAS Parliament

Adoba Echono, Abuja

The Deputy Speaker of Nigeria’s House of Representatives, Mr. Yusuf Lasun has been elected as the first Deputy Speaker of the ECOWAS Parliament.

The fourth legislature of the ECOWAS parliament elected members to run its affairs for the next four years at a session in Abuja.

The session presided over by the speaker of the parliament; Moustapha Cisse Lo also saw the emergence of Aminata Toungara of Ivory Coast as the second Deputy Speaker.

Other executives of the parliament elected are Jefferson Kanmoh from Liberia as the third Deputy Speaker while Orlando Ferreira of Cape Verde emerged as the fourth Deputy Speaker.