Anambra CP decorates newly promoted officers

Tochukwu Ifejika, Awka


Newly promoted officers were decorated on Tuesday by the new Anambra State Commissioner of Police, Monday Bala Kuryas at the State Command in Awka. 170 officers benefited from the command following the approval by the Police Service Commission for the promotion of Senior Police Officers on the recommendation of the Inspector-General of Police IGP Mohammed Abubakar Adamu.


According to the press release made available by the Command’s PPRO Haruna Mohammed to newsmen, the officers promoted comprised 24 Deputy Superintendents of Police to Superintendents of Police SP, 38 Assistant Superintendents of Police to  Deputy Superintendents DSP and 108 Inspectors to the Rank of Assistant Superintendents of Police ASP.


“Consequently, 122 Assistant Superintendents of Police ASP II were confirmed to the substantive rank of ASP I”, the statement read.


List of officers decorated
The officers decorated by the Commissioner of Police include: SP Idowu Olawole (Command Works Officer), SP Ochogwu Sunday (DCO II), Okpoko Division. Others are DSP Isaiah Garba Kamantan (Station Officer Okpoko Division) and Inspectors Desmond Ezihe, Imo Joseph, Japhet Onaro, Emeka Onwuyuariri and Infeanyi Osadi, all promoted to the rank of Assistant Superintendents of Police (ASP).


Kuryas congratulated the newly promoted officers from the Command and urged them to put more efforts in discharging their duties of promoting safety and security not only in the State but the Nation at large. The CP also urged them to re-dedicate themselves to duty and reciprocate the gesture done to them by the Inspector-General of Police. 


The CP equally thanked the IGP for giving personnel welfare a top priority in his administration and assured the people of Anambra that the Command under his watch will continue to serve and protect the citizens with integrity.



Nneka Ukachukwu


Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.