Worldnews day

Sports Minister Commends President Buhari’s House Allocation For 1994 Eagles

By Lekan Sowande, Abuja.


The Minister of Youth and Sports Development, Sunday Dare, has commended President  Muhammadu Buhari for his timely response  in allocating houses to the victorious 1994 Super Eagles football team after successive  governments  failed to do so.

The 1994 Super Eagles Squad won the African Cup of Nations in Tunis, Tunisia.

“I want to most sincerely thank President Muhammadu Buhari for his quick response to the memo  raised by the Minister of Works and Housing  Babatunde Raji Fashola, SAN,” Dare said. “This case had lingered for too long, but thanks to the President  for making this long standing promise a reality.”

1994 Super Eagles of Nigeria

“This is not only heart warming, but timely and commendable. This is another confirmation that the President  loves  sports and would always reward our sports men and women who make this country proud. We are so delighted that the labour of our heroes has not gone in vain,” Dare added.

President Muhammadu Buhari approved allocation of 3-bedroom houses to the victorious 1994 Super Eagles Squad following  the recommendation of the  Minister of Works and Housing after Dare had raised the matter with Fashola.

Following the  memo by Fashola, the President approved the allocations of houses  in their states of preference.

The players  that will benefit from the allocations include: Peter Rufai, Alloy Agu, Ike Shorounmu, Uche, Austin Jay Jay Okocha,  Nduka Ugbade, Okechukwu, Samson Siasia, Efan Ekoku, Sunday Oliseh, Benedict Iroha, Isaac Semitoje, Mutiu Adepoju, Edema Fuludu, Emmanuel Amunike, Victor Ikpeba, Austin Eguavoen and Wilfred Agbonavbare (Deceased).

Others are: Uche Okafor (Deceased), Thompson Oliha (Deceased), Stephen Keshi (Deceased), Christian Chukwu, Akin Amao, Col. A Asielue and B. Aromasodun.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.

%d bloggers like this: