Eleven Authors To Contend for Nigeria Prize for Literature


The Advisory Board for The Nigeria Prize for Literature has announced the shortlist of 11 drawn from 202 books in the running for the 2021 edition of the prize.

The 11 books on the shortlist are:

1. Delusion of Patriots, Obianuju V. Chukwuorji

2. Give Us Each Day, Samuel Monye

3. Imminent River, Anaele Ihuoma

4. In The Name of Our Father, Olukorede S. Yishau

5. Mountain of Yesterday, Tony Nwaka

6. Neglected, Lucy Chiamaka Okwuma

7. The Colours of Hatred, Obinna Udenwa

8. The Girl with The Louding Voice, Abi Dare

9. The Return of Half- Something, Chukwudi Eze

10. The Son of The House, Cheluchi Onyemelukwe-Onuobia

11. Your Church My Shrine, Law Ikay Ezeh

The list was presented by the Chairman, Panel of Judges for this year’s Nigeria Prize for Literature, Professor Toyin Jegede, a professor of Literature in English at the University of Ibadan.

The other judges are Prof. Tanimu Abubakar and Dr Solomon Azumurana. Professor Abubakar is a Professor of Literature in the Faculty of Art, Ahmadu Bello University, Zaria. Dr Azumurana is a Senior Lecturer in the Department of English at the University of Lagos.

The judges described the shortlist as fresh approaches to looking at issues, using new and exciting narrative strategies, techniques and well-written organic plots to present topical discussions in realistic ways.

The judges stated that there has been a visible improvement in writing skills and commended Nigeria Liquefied Natural Gas, NLNG, (founder and sponsors of the prize), for giving writers the platform to blossom and experiment. As in the past, The Nigeria Prize for Literature, Africa’s biggest reward for creative excellence, will be keenly contested.

According to the Chairperson of the prize’s Advisory Board, Professor Akachi Adimora-Ezeigbo, the Board unanimously agreed that the shortlist of 11 was an excellent list.

She expressed her appreciation to the judges for a thorough job in selecting the shortlist. She stated that excellence was the watchword of the prize, adding that the onus was on the Advisory Board to continue in the tradition that was handed to them by the past Board.

The Nigeria Prize for Literature has since 2004 rewarded a good number of eminent writers. Jude Idada was the 2019 winner with his book, “Boom, Boom” (Children Literature)
The Nigeria Prize for Literature runs concurrently with the Nigeria Prize for Literary Criticism (also sponsored by NLNG), for which four entries were received in 2020. The literary criticism prize carries a monetary value of N1 million.

The Nigeria Prize for Literature rotates yearly amongst four literary categories – prose fiction, poetry, drama, and children’s literature.

A shortlist of three is expected in September. A winner, if any, will be announced by the Advisory Board in October.

Source: Premium Times



Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.

%d bloggers like this: