Foundation calls for Special categories entries on Gender-based violence 

By Abimbola Onyekachi, Lagos

0 289


The Media Foundation for West Africa (MFWA) is calling for entries for two special categories created under the 2021 edition of the West Africa Media Excellence Conference and Awards (WAMECA).

The award is to recognise and honour Journalists in West Africa who have been producing analytical and high –quality reports aimed at promoting gender equality and ending gender-based violence in the religion.

The two special categories are: Gender Reporting (general) with a focus on advancing equality and changing gender norms and Gender–Based Violence Reporting​.

The categories are opened to Journalists from print, electronic and online media in Anglophone, Francophone and Lusophone countries in West Africa. An Applicant must be West African, working with and for a media organisation(s).

Entries for the categories must have been published or broadcast between the period January1, 2020, to December 31, 2020.

Interested applicants should upload published works via the entry form on the website;

The entry should be an original work published through a media outlet in West Africa and must show the date of publication/broadcast and the medium in which the work was published.

Applicants may submit a maximum of two entries for each category and the deadline for the submission of the entries is on August 16, 2021.

Finalists for these special awards will be announced on October 1, 2021, together with the finalists of the other categories of the WAMECA 2021 Awards.

Winners of these special categories will be announced at the West Africa Media Excellence Awards on October 23, at Swiss Spirit Alisa Hotel, Accra where the awards ceremony will be held.

Mercy Chukwudiebere

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.