World Cup Qualifiers: Rohr Invites 30 Super Eagles Players


Super Eagles coach Gernot Rohr has called up 30 players for September’s FIFA World Cup qualifying matches against Liberia and Cape Verde.

Rohr stuck with his regulars as Nigeria host Liberia at the Teslim Balogun Stadium in Lagos on September 3rd. The Super Eagles will then travel to the  Island of Mindelo to battle with the Blue Sharks of Cape Verde on September 7th September in the race to Qatar.

The situation with UK-based players, who may not be heading to Cape Verde (which is on the red list of the British Government with regards to the global COVID-19 pandemic) has enlarged the roster, and should the situation remain unchanged, the eight UK-based players on the list would head back to base after the clash with Liberia.

Goalkeepers; Maduka Okoye and Francis Uzoh, defenders; William Ekong, Abdullahi Shehu, Chidozie Awaziem and Leon Balogun, midfielders; Wilfred Ndidi and Oghenekaro Etebo, and forwards; Ahmed Musa, Alex Iwobi, Moses Simon and Victor Osimhen are on the roster.

There is a return for Kaizer Chiefs goalkeeper Daniel Akpeyi, defenders; Kenneth Omeruo and Kevin Akpoguma and Greece-based forward Henry Onyekuru. Former junior international Kingsley Michael was also called, as Innocent Bonke from Sweden joins the Nigerian camp for the first time.

Central African Republic is the other team in the group, and they will honour home-and-away encounters with the Super Eagles in October.

The Super Eagles have so far featured in six of the past seven FIFA World Cup finals.


Goalkeepers: Francis Uzoho (APOEL Nicosia, Cyprus); Daniel Akpeyi (Kaizer Chiefs, South Africa); Maduka Okoye (Sparta Rotterdam, The Netherlands)

Defenders: Chidozie Awaziem (FC Boavista, Portugal); Kenneth Omeruo (CD Leganes, Spain); Leon Balogun (Glasgow Rangers, Scotland); William Ekong (Watford FC, England); Olaoluwa Aina (Torino FC, Italy); Jamilu Collins (SC Padeborn 07, Germany); Abdullahi Shehu (AC Omonia, Cyprus); Zaidu Sanusi (FC Porto, Portugal); Kevin Akpoguma (TSG Hoffenheim, Germany)

Midfielders: Oghenekaro Etebo (Watford FC, England); Wilfred Ndidi (Leicester City, England); Frank Onyeka (Brentford FC, England); Joseph Ayodele-Aribo (Glasgow Rangers, Scotland)

Forwards: Ahmed Musa (Fatih Karagumruk, Turkey); Alex Iwobi (Everton FC, England); Samuel Kalu (FC Bordeaux, France); Victor Osimhen (Napoli FC, Italy); Kelechi Iheanacho (Leicester City, England); Moses Simon (FC Nantes, France); Paul Onuachu (KRC Genk, Belgium)

SEVEN OTHERS: Terem Moffi (FC Lorient, France); Henry Onyekuru (Olympiacos FC, Greece); Chidera Ejuke (CSKA Moscow, Russia); Innocent Bonke (Malmo FF, Sweden); Valentine Ozornwafor (Sporting Charleroi, Belgium); Tyronne Ebuehi (Venezia FC, Italy); Kingsley Michael (Bologna FC, Italy).


Chidi Nwoke/Super Eagles/Channels.


Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.

%d bloggers like this: