Nasarawa Assembly announces new minority leader, dissolves other minority positions

By Amina Mohammed, Lafia


Hon Abel Bala (PDP), Nasarawa Eggon West constituency has been announced as the new minority leader of the Nasarawa State House of Assembly.

This is coming barely a day after the suspension of the Deputy Minority Leader of the Nasarawa State House of Assembly, Hon Luka Zhekaba (PDP- Obi 2) just as the House announced the dissolution of all other minority positions in the House leaving only that of the minority leader.

Speaker of the House, Hon Balarabe Abdullahi, who announced this during the House sitting in Lafia, said the appointment of the new minority leader is with immediate effect.

We have met and have agreed to appoint a new Minority Leader in the person of Hon Abel Yakubu Bala, the former Minority Whip and this takes immediate effect.

“In the same vein, all other minority positions in the House stand dissolved,” the speaker said.

It will be recalled that the former Minority Leader, Hon Danladi Jatau, member representing Kokona West left PDP for APC, leaving the position vacant with the Deputy minority leader doing the minority leader’s job at the floor of the House before his suspension.

The minority positions dissolved included Deputy Minority Leader, Minority Whip, and Deputy Minority Whip respectively.

Out of 24 members in the House, APC has 20, PDP has three and Zenith Labour Party ZLP has one.

When the House was inaugurated on June 10, 2019, APC had 15 members, PDP-seven, SDP-one and ZLP-one.


Nneka Ukachukwu

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.

%d bloggers like this: