Nasarawa Assembly confirms customary Court of Appeal President

Amina Mohammed, Lafia



Nasarawa State House of Assembly has confirmed the appointment of Justice Osagade Emmanuel as President of Customary Court of Appeal in the state.


The House has also confirmed the Reappointment of Musa Dangana Giza as Chairman, State Civil Service Commission ( CSC), and four others as members of the commission in the state.


The Speaker of the House Balarabe-Abdullahi announced their confirmations after their appearances for screening during the House proceedings today in Lafia.


Balarabe- Abdullahi said that their confirmations followed their track records of achievements while discharging their duties at various capacities in the state.


“This  House confirms the nomination of Hon. Justice Osagade Osabo Emmanuel as President,  Customary Court of Appeal,


This House also confirms the re-nomination of Musa Dangana Giza as Chairman, Nasarawa State Civil Service Commission.


“The House also confirm the nominations of Mr. Salisu Isa, Mr. Randolph Para,  Mr. Joel  Onarigu Olugbo, and Mr. Ahmed Abubakar as members of the state Civil Service Commission,” he said.


The speaker said that they have been certified for appointments due to their records of achievements in the past and have never been found wanting in any aspects so far.


He urged them to discharge their duties without fear or favor if finally sworn in by the Governor.


The speaker directed the Clerk of the House to communicate the resolution of the House to the Governor for his necessary action.


The speaker has announced the withdrawal of the appointments of members of the State Judicial Service Commission (JSC) by Gov. Abdullahi Sule.


The governor in his letter said, ” Having renewed the situation, I have observed that the members of the Judicial Service Commission whose appointments were for four years in line with the extant laws of the state supposed to be for a term of 5 years by the provision of the 1999 constitution of the Federal Republic of Nigeria ( as amended).


” I wish to state that in the circumstances, the provision of the constitution supersedes the state law. I have the honor to humbly request for the withdrawal of my request for the confirmation of those recommended for appointments as members of JSC”, Gov. Sule noted


Recalled that the Governor has last week Wednesday sent the names of Abdullahi Lawal, Yarima Jatau, and Abdullahi Sani Oseze to the State Assembly for confirmation as members of the Judicial Service Commission.


Similarly, the House also deliberated on the report of the House Committee on Finance and Appropriation on A Bill for a Law to issue out of the Consolidated Revenue Fund of the State (Supplementary Appropriation Bill) of the sum of N5, 975, 076, 812.86 and a virement ( Re- Allocation/ Adjustment ) of 2,690,023,000 only for the services of Nasarawa State Government.


The speaker is slated for Monday, October 25, 2021, for the third reading of the bill.


In the same vein, the House passed into first reading A  Bill for a Law to Prohibit Substance Abuse and Provide Treatment for Substance Abusers and Addicts, 2021 sponsored by Hon Abdulaziz Danladi.


The speaker slated Nov. 3, 2021, for the second reading of the bill.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.

%d bloggers like this: