National Convention: APC Chairmanship aspirants to meet in Abuja

Aanya Igomu, Abuja 

0 332


Over Nine National Chairmanship aspirants of the governing All Progressive Congress, APC are to meet in Abuja to discuss the way forward for the party ahead of 2023 General Election. The aspirants will meet in an event organised by the APC Press Corp on Thursday, November 16.

This was established in a press statement where the chairman organising committee of the Annual Public Lecture Summit, Mr. Ayeni Babatunde, said the Director General, Voice of Nigeria, Mr. Osita Okechukwu will deliver a keynote paper titled: “APC Beyond 2023: The tasks ahead – The Role of Stakeholders.” 

The Annual Public lecture has the theme, “Towards Ensuring Enduring Democracy”. Mr Babatunde noted that the lecture is a contribution of the APC Press Corp to developing Nigeria’s democracy.

“It is a platform designed by the APC Press Corps to contribute to the intellectual development of the nation’s democracy. 

“The summit aims at providing workable templates for good governance and serves as a medium for deepening democratic norms and institutions by engaging key players in politics, public administration, academia, and economy. 

“Reports and suggestions on the lecture will be made available to the party and interested members of the public,” he said.

Among the chairmanship aspirants expected are former Deputy National Chairman of the defunct Congress for Progressive Change (CPC), Saliu Mustapha, former governor of Nasarawa state Senator Tanko Almakura, former governor of Borno state, Senator Alimodu Sheriff, current Senator representing Niger East, Mohammed Sani Musa, former governor of Zamfara state, Abdulaziz Yari and former governor of Bauchi state, Isa Yuguda.

Others include; Minister of Special Duties and Inter-Governmental Affairs, Senator George Akume, Mr. Sunny Moniedafe, former Borno governor, Senator Kashim Shettima, former Gombe State governor, Senator Danjuma Goje and Mohammed Saidu Etsu.

The APC National Chairman, Caretaker Extra-Ordinary Convention Planning Committee (CECPC), and Governor of Yobe State, Mai Mala Buni will be the Chairman of the occasion.

Suzan O.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.