CBN Tennis tourney opens in Lagos

Terver Dominic, Lagos

The stage is set for the commencement of Central Bank of Nigeria (CBN) Senior Tennis open at the National Stadium, Lagos on Thursday June 16.

Speaking at a press conference heralding the commencement of the 38th edition of this year’s championship, the Director Corporate Communications of the Apex Bank, Isaac Okorafor represented by Mrs Sintiki Thaanda, said CBN is committed to continuous sponsorship of the tennis open.

Okorafor stated that, “In line with the corporate social responsibility programme of the Central Bank of Nigeria, we wish to re-affirm the bank’s desire to support and promote the game of tennis in Nigeria.”

Major tournament
The CBN senior open tennis championship is the only major tournament in the calendar of the Nigeria Tennis Federation that provides a platform for the selection of talented tennis players that would represent the country at the forth coming All Africa Games, scheduled for July in Madagascar.

Over 200 tennis players from all parts of Nigeria have indicated interest in the championship.

According to Okorafor, “As it was in 2015′ the total prize money for the 2016 edition of the competition is, N14, 300,000.00. The prize money for the winners in the men’s and Ladies’ is N700, 000 each, while the runners-up will go home with N500, 000 each.”

Okorafor also stated that the Wheelchair Tennis, which was introduced into the championship last year, has come to stay.

The winners in both male and female categories in the Wheelchair tennis will go home with N250, 000, while the runners-up will pocket N200, 000.

Also speaking at the press conference, the first vice chairman of the Nigeria Tennis Federation, Yemi Owoseni, who represented the President of the Federation, Sani Ndanusa, praised CBN for its contribution to the growth of tennis in the country.

The CBN tennis has been running since its inception in 1979, producing such great players as David Imonitie, Veronica Oyibokia, Sunday Maku, Sadiq Abdullahi, Remi Osho and Clara Usofa.

The championship will run from June 16 to 25.