Committee of Vice Chancellors Gets Female Head

By, Temitope Mustapha, Abuja

0 433

The Committee of Vice-Chancellors of Nigerian Federal Universities has elected the Vice-Chancellor of University of Benin, Professor Lilian Salami as its Chairman.

The Vice- Chancellor of Bayero University Kano, Professor Sagir Abbas has also been  elected as the Alternate Chairman.

These were made known in a statement signed and made available to Journalists in Abuja by the Secretary General of the Committee , Professor Yakubu Ochefu.

According to the statement, the Professor Salami was unanimously elected on Wednesday during a virtual/physical meeting held at its secretariat in Abuja.

The statement reads, ” Until her election Professor Salami was the Alternate Chairman to Professor Sulyman Abdulkareem who will be completing his tenure as the Vice-Chancellor, University of Ilorin on the 15th October, 2022.”

The statement further disclosed that the election of Professor Salami now makes her the second female Vice-Chancellor to head the Committee of Vice-Chancellors of Nigerian Federal Universities.

The Secretariat wishes the two members of the Executive Board of the Committee success as they take over the mantle of leadership.



Confidence Okwuchi

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.