Ecowas Commission appoints Omar Touray as President

Cyril Okonkwo, Abuja.

0 658

The Authority of Heads of State and Government of the Economic Community of West African States, Ecowas, has appointed Dr Omar Alieu Touray of The Gambia as the new President of the Ecowas Commission.

This was one of the highlights of the 61st Ordinary Session of the ECOWAS, which took place in Accra, Ghana, on Sunday.

The communiqué issued at the end of the session said that The Gambia, which was allocated the position of President of the ECOWAS Commission, proposed the candidature of Touray.

Touray succeeds Cote d’Ivoire’s Jean-Claude Brou, whose four-year tenure ended on June 30, 2022.

Other statutory appointees approved by the Authority include Togo’s Ms. Damtien Tchintchibidja who is now the Vice President of the Commission; Nigeria’s Prof. Nazifi Abdullahi Darma, Commissioner for Internal Services; Ghana’s Dr. Abdel-Fatau Musah, Commissioner for Political Affairs Peace and Security; and Cote d’Ivoire’s Ms. Massandjé Touré-Litse, Commissioner for Economic Affairs and Agriculture Cote D’Ivoire.

Among other members of the Commission are Ms. Massandjé Touré-Litse of Niger, Commissioner for Infrastructure, Energy & Digitalisation;  and Mr. Sediko Douka of Guinea Bissau, Commissioner for  Human Development and Social Affairs.

“The Authority directs the President of the Commission to take appropriate measures towards the assumption of duty of the appointees nominated by 11th July 2022 and the finalization of the recruitment to fill the outstanding positions by 20th July 2022,” the communiqué stated.

The Heads of State and Government also decided to hold the next Ordinary Session in Abuja, Nigeria.


Dominica Nwabufo




Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.