Enyimba, Akwa, draw bye in Federation Cup

Nigeria Premier League Club, Akwa United, have drawn bye in the round of 64 of 2016 Federation Cup.

Nigeria league champions, Enyimba, will not take part in the round of 64.

Last year’s losing finalists, Lobi Stars also got a safe passage into the round of 32 as the draw was conducted in Abuja on Thursday.

Several fascinating ties however heralded the draw with Sunshine Stars facing Giwa FC in an all-Nigeria Professional Football League (NPFL) affair.

Former champions, Enugu Rangers will take on Akure City while Shooting Stars Sports Club (3SC) take on Wikki Tourists Feeders.

Rivers United have got what it takes to navigate in the shape of Owerri-based outfit, Papillo FC.

Papillo FC is owned by former African Footballer of the Year winner, Nwankwo Kanu.

Technical manager of Rivers United, Stanley Eguma understands the enormity of the task at hand but is tipping his side to get the job done against the unheralded side.

“Playing against Papillo FC is a tough draw for (Rivers United) because they are a very good side.

“We will not underrate them and we know we have to work very hard to get the win,” Eguma said.

The matches will be played on 25th and 26th May across the federation.

In the women’s draw, Rivers Angels will confront FC Robo Queens in the first round, while Abia Angels will trade tackles with Rising Queens, among other fixtures. Cup holders Sunshine Queens were drawn bye alongside Nasarawa Amazons, Capital City Doves, Confluence Queens, Moscow Queens, Delta Queens Katsina Queens, COD United Ladies, Pelican Stars and Bayelsa Queens.


Kwara United Vs Galadima Best

Sunshine Stars Vs Giwa FC

Abia Comets Vs Nembe City

Damaturu FC Vs Dynamite United

Rovers FC Vs Flash Flamingoes

Nasarawa United Vs FC Abuja

Go Round Vs Yobe Desert Stars

Rivers United Vs Papilo FC

Kaduna United Vs Bridge FC

Shooting Stars Vs Wikki Tourist Feeders

FC Zamfara Vs Almar FC

Heartland FC Vs Top World

  1. Atete Vs Akwa Starlets

El-Kanemi Warriors Vs Katsina United Feeders

Sokoto United Vs Crown FC

Fasbir FC Vs Niger Tornadoes

ABS FC Vs Yenagoa City

Akure City Vs Enugu Rangers

Kogi United Vs Ekiti United

Wikki Tourists Vs FRSC FC

Dreams FC Vs Akwanga Selected

Plateau United Vs Zara FC

Gateway FC Vs Kano Pillars

Prime FC Vs Inneh Stars

Yarmalight FC Vs Warri Wolves

Jigawa Golden Stars Vs Gashaka Green Buffaloes

MFM FC Vs El-Kanemi Babes

Katsina United Vs FC Lokoja

FC IfeanyiUbah Vs Ebonyi United

Akwa United, Enyimba FC and Lobi Stars draw bye into the Round of 32



 Alberto Queens Vs Osun Queens

FC Robo Queens Vs Rivers Angels

Abia Angels Vs Rising Queens

Ibom Angels Vs Edo Queens

Sure Babes Vs Gift of Life

Martins White Doves Vs Tokas Queens


Aisha JM