EU to ban Russian oil and three state-owned broadcasters

0 1,148

The European Union will ban importing Russian oil, refined products and three Russian state-owned broadcasters as part of a sixth sanctions package over Moscow’s war in Ukraine, the bloc’s chief executive said on Wednesday.

According to the European Commission President Ursula von der Leyen, “We will phase out Russian supply of crude oil within six months and refined products by the end of the year.

“This will be a complete import ban on all Russian oil, seaborne and pipeline, crude and refined.

“It will not be easy. Some member states are strongly dependent on Russian oil. But we simply have to work on it,” she added.

Ursula von der Leyen, also mentioned regarding the three state-owned broadcasters that, “They will not be allowed to distribute their content anymore in the European Union, in whatever shape or form, be it on cable, via satellite, on the internet or via smartphone apps.”

She called the TV channels mouthpieces that amplify Russian President Vladimir Putin’s lies and propaganda aggressively.

“We should not give them a stage anymore to spread these lies,” she added.

READ ALSO: Russian forces have seized east Ukrainian city of Kreminna



Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.