Katsina Speaker Emerges Deputy Chairman Conference of Speakers

0 375

The Speaker, Katsina State House of Assembly, Alhaji Nasir Yahaya-Daura, has emerged the new Deputy Chairman, Conference of Speakers of State Legislatures of Nigeria.

The Chief Press Secretary (CPS) to the assembly, Malam Aminu Magaji, confirmed this to the News Agency of Nigeria in Katsina on Sunday.

According to him, this is sequel to the consensus reached by the aspirants to step down in favour of Yahaya-Daura in view of his outstanding leadership qualities.

He said the Katsina Speaker was also chosen for his vast experiences, commitment and consistency in moving the Nigerian legislature forward.

Magaji said the election which took place in Abuja also saw the emergence of Ahe Speaker Oyo State House of Assembly, Mr Adebo Ogundoyin, as Chairman of the Conference.

The Chairman, his deputy and other executive members immediatly took oath of office after the election,” he said.

Ogundoyin had emerged the Chairman of the Conference following the withdrawal of the Speaker of Ogun State House of Assembly, Mr Taiwo Oluomo.

The Constitution of the Conference stipulates a two-year tenure term of office for its elected officials to be rotated between the northern and the southern part of the country.






Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.