Kwara Guber Elections: APC Chieftain Applauds INEC for Peaceful Polls 

Lekan Sowande, Ilorin.

0 239

The chairman of the All Progressives Congress (APC) in Kwara state, North-central Nigeria, Prince Sunday Fagbemi, has lauded the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) for a peaceful conduct of the just concluded 2023 Gubernatorial/ State Assembly polls held on Saturday, 18th March.

Prince Sunday Fagbemi, chairman of the All Progressives Congress (APC) in Kwara state.


While speaking with Voice of Nigeria in Ilorin, the Kwara state capital, Prince Fagbemi also appealed to other contestants in the last Governorship and the State Assembly elections to join hands with the ruling party to move the state forward.

The incumbent Governor Mallam AbdulRahman AbdulRazaq of the APC was at the weekend re-elected for a second term after polling 273,424 votes to defeat his closest rival, Alhaji Shuaib Yaman of the People’s Democratic Party (PDP), who scored 155, 850 votes.

The All Progressives Congress (APC) also won 23 out of the 24 available seats in the Kwara State House of Assembly, while the People’s Democratic Party (PDP) secured one (1) seat.

Prince Fagbemi described the outcome of the election in the state as an eloquent testimony to the degree of acceptance of Governor AbdulRazaq administration by the good people of Kwara state.

He called on those who lost out to accept the outcome of the  elections and support those elected for the peace and progress of the state.

“We thank the good people of Kwara state for re-electing our governor.

“In an election one person will surely emerge as the winner, so it is important that the winners be given the needed support to ensure that governance is not frustrated by unnecessary bickering,” he said.

He commended the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) in the state for the peaceful and credible conduct of the elections:

“I must commend the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) for the way they handled the exercise –  very transparent, orderly and peaceful”

The APC seats and the members-elect are: 

Ilesha/Gwanara (Yakubu Salihu-Danladi); Bamigboye Joseph Olajire (Oke-Ero Constituency); Lafiagi (Baba Yisa Gideon); Kaiama/Wajibe/Kemanji (Abdullahi Halidu Danbaba); and Gwanabe/Adena/Banni (Ahmed Saidu Baba).

Others include Ekiti (Abolarin Ganiyu); Oke-Ogun (Ojo Oyebode); Essa/Sawo/Igboidun (Yusuf AbdulWaheed); Oloru/Malete/Ipaye (Lawal Saliu); Afon (Bello Yinusa Oniboki); Lanwa/Ejidondari (Medinat AbdulRaheem); Ilorin North/West (Aishat Babatunde); Ilorin East (Arinola Fatimoh Lawal); Owode/Onire (Shittu Rukayat); Ojomu/Balogun (Segun Oguniyi); and Isin constituency (Omotosho Razaq).

Others are Irepodun (Olusola Odetundun); Ilorin South (Maryam Aladi); Ilorin Central (Magaji Abdulkadir); Share/Ode-Ode (AbdulRazaq  Owolabi); Omupo/Igbaja (Salahu Afolabi Ganiyu); Patigi (Mohammed Kareem Musa); and Okuta/Yashkira (Salihu Mohammed Baba).

The PDP had only one (1) House of Assembly member-elect, Otunba Afolabi Taiye of Odo-Ogun Constituency.

They will represent their various constituents in the 10th Assembly of Kwara state, North-central Nigeria.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.