Lagos State House of Assembly Constitutes 40 Standing Committees

0 419
The Lagos State 10th House of Assembly has constituted 40 standing committees for effective oversight function.
The Assembly hitherto had been operating with ad hoc committees since its inauguration by Governor Babajide Sanwo-Olu on June 6.
The Speaker Rt Hon. Mudashiru Obasa, during plenary, named himself as the chairman of Selection Committee while the Majority Leader, Mr Noheem Adams,  oversees the Business Rules.
The speaker appointed the Chief Whip, Mr Fatai Mojeed, to head the Ethics Protocol & Privileges committee, while the Public Account (State) committee would be chaired by Mr Kehinde Joseph.
Obasa said the Public Account (Local) committee would be chaired by Mr Akinsanya Nureni; Civic Engagement by Lukmon Orelope; Information Strategy & Security by Mr Stephen Ogundipe; while Mr Olootu Emmanuel would lead the committee on Agriculture.
He further listed other committees and their chairmen to include:
“Economic Planning & Budget – Mr Saad Olumoh; Education Ministry & Agency -Mrs Mosunmola Sangodara; Education Institution – Mr Ajani Owolabi; and Science & Technology – Mr Seyi Lawal.
“Environment Parastatal – Mr Adebola Shabi; Environment Ministry – Mr Lanre Afinni; Establishment, Training & Pension -Mr Aro Moshood; Energy & Mineral Resources – Mr Sabur Oluwa; and Waterfront Infrastructure Development – Mr Yishawu Gbolahan.
“Physical Planning and Urban Development – Mr Sylvester Ogunkelu; Transportation – Mr Temitope Adewale; Commerce, Industry and Cooperatives – Mr Abiodun Tobun; and Women Affairs, Poverty Alleviation and Job Creation – Mrs Lara Olumegbon.”
According to the speaker, the Works & Infrastructure would be headed by Mr Desmond Elliot; Wealth Creation & Employment by Mrs Foluke Osafile; Finance – Femi Saheed; Health – Mr Musbau Lawal; Home Affairs – Mr Abdulkareem Jubreel, while Tourism, Art and Culture committee would be chaired by Boonu Solomon.
Obasa also said that the Youth and Social Development would be chaired by Mr Biodun Orekoya; Judiciary, Human Rights, Public Petition & LASIEC – Mr Ladi Ajomale; Lands – Mr Seyi Lawal; Housing – Mr Segun Ege; while CBD will be overseen by Mr Oladele Ajayi.
The Special Duties and Intergovernmental Relations would be chaired by Mr David Doherty; Local Government Administration and Community Affairs by Mr Okanlawon Ganiyu; and Compliance Legislative committee by Mr Setonji David, the deputy chief whip.
The procurement would be headed by Mr Samuel Apata; Interparliamentary by Mr Kasunmu Adedamola, the deputy Majority Leader; Public Private Partnership committee by Mr Yinka Esho, while Overseas Investment will be overseen by Mr Ogunleye Gbolahan.
Obasa urged the committee chairmen to see the positions as a call to serve the people of Lagos State and not to cater for personal interests.
The speaker advised the House committee chairpersons to live up to expectations by serving their respective committees diligently.





Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.