Morocco 2022: Waldrum Selects 25 Super Falcons For WAFCON

0 647

Super Falcons head coach Randy Waldrum has selected 25 players to represent Nigeria at the 2022 Women’s Africa Cup of Nations (WAFCON), scheduled to hold in Morocco.

Waldrum, who will be in the technical area for the first time in the tournament, selected Super Falcons captain, Onome Ebi, with a mix of experienced players such as Tochukwu Oluehi, Ebi, Rita Chikwelu, Osinachi Ohale, and Francisca Ordega.

Defenders Ashleigh Plumptre, Nicole Payne and Michelle Alozie are among the debutants at the continental showpiece.

Meanwhile, goalkeeper Rita Akarekor, defenders Chidinma Okeke, Ngozi Emenayo and Opeyemi Sunday, midfielders Suliat Abideen, Amanda Uju Mbadi and Charity Adule, and forward Anam Imo, who were all at the camp in Abuja.

The Super Falcons are scheduled to depart Nigeria for Morocco on Monday, 27th June.

In their first match of the campaign on Monday, July 4, Nigeria will face rivals, South Africa; and later Botswana on July 7, and Burundi on July 10 all at the Prince Heritier Moulay Hassan Stadium in Rabat.

All four semi finalists at the championship in Morocco will qualify to represent Africa at the 2023 FIFA Women’s World Cup in Australia and New Zealand.


Goalkeepers: Chiamaka Nnadozie (Paris FC, France); Tochukwu Oluehi (Maccabi Kishronot Hadera, Israel); Yewande Balogun (Coppermine United, USA)


Glory Ogbonna (Santa Teresa FC, Spain); Onome Ebi (En Avant Guingamp, France); Osinachi Ohale (Deportivo Alaves, Spain); Ashleigh Plumptre (Leicester City, England); Nicole Payne (West Virginia University, USA); Michelle Alozie (Houston Dash, USA); Akudo Ogbonna (Edo Queens)


Peace Efih (Kiryat Gat, Israel); Halimatu Ayinde (Eskilstuna FC, Sweden); Toni Oyedupe Payne (Sevilla FC, Spain); Regina Otu (Minsk FC, Belarus); Christy Ucheibe (SL Benfica, Portugal); Rasheedat Ajibade (Atletico Madrid, Spain); Rita Chikwelu (Madrid CFF, Spain); Ngozi Okobi-Okeoghene (Eskilstuna FC, Sweden)


Francisca Ordega (CSKA Moscow, Russia); Vivian Ikechukwu (WFC Gintra, Lithuania); Chinonyerem Macleans (GSK Gornik Leczna, Poland); Ifeoma Onumonu (NY/NJ Gotham FC, USA); Uchenna Kanu (Tigres Femenil, Mexico); Asisat Oshoala (FC Barcelona, Spain); Gift Monday (Bayelsa Queens).



Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.